top of page

How To Locate Crappie Using A Depth Finder

Finding the crappie is the first step to catching the crappie. No matter what you use as a crappie bait, whether minnows, jigs or secret baits, the crappie must be there to be caught. I went to a lake and fished every heap of brushwood I saw. And I've done this technique pretty well in summer and only in winter. However, when I started using my fish finder/fish finder, I started doing it much better.


Venterior - The Best Fish Finder For Kayak


Venterior is a portable device that proves very useful for people who love fishing. It is suitable for boat fishing, ice fishing or shore fishing.

This device can function properly in temperatures as low as -20°C. It detects and displays the location of fish, weeds and stones. It also reads the depth of the water and displays this data on the LCD screen.



A 25ft cord is attached to the sonar transducer with a detachable transducer float. This allows you to fish from different locations without having to get on the water.

This device has five sensitivity modes for controlling how much clarity to display. It also has a backlight mode that makes it very useful at night.


The first thing I do when I turn on my depth sensor is to turn off the fish symbols! I feel like I'm getting a better view of what's under the boat without any fish symbols on the screen. It's just my opinion. I like to look for a structure in the middle of nowhere. By that I mean, if you walk along a flat floor with no structure and suddenly see a tree or submerged stumps, you have found a structure that is in the middle of nowhere. If you find this structure, let the boat idle back and forth to see if it contains fish. Chances are, there will be puppies and bass. Instead of anchoring, drop a series of marker buoys.


Uses and Methods of Fish Finder


I use this method to mark the structure I found on the fish finder. I prepare my first buoy and start driving the boat towards the structure. As soon as I see it on the sonar, I drop the first buoy. I keep going straight until I have passed the structure. Then I make a 180 degree turn and walk towards the structure with my second marker buoy. I usually pass the first marker buoy that I dropped a little before checking the structure of my sonar. Then I drop the second buoy. Since the sonar screen shows you the story of what's under you, you've already gone beyond what you see on the screen when the boat is moving. If you drop the buoys this way, you can be sure that the structure is between the buoys.


I've caught a lot more puppies since using this technique to locate them. I usually throw them tube templates first. If the bite wears off, I will try swimming bait like curly tail worms and catching some other puppies. Finally, I'm going to start some Minnows with a floating rig. Finally I will draw my buoys and look for the next piece of structure. I hope this will help you find and catch more crappie. For more advice on Crappie and my blog, see Catching Crappie. Do not hesitate to join the new Crappie forum Crappie and leave advice or ask questions.


Roscoe Ledbetter is a passionate fisherman. He specializes in using artificial baits to catch a wide variety of fish. Roscoe spends most of his free time fishing.


bottom of page